Board of Zoning & Building Appeals

The Zoning Board of Appeals consists of three members and three alternates. The members and alternates are appointed by the Board of Selectmen for terms of one, two and three years, the term of one member and an one alternate expiring each year.  Appointments after the first year are to be for three years. Vacancies shall be filled by the Board of Selectmen for the balance of any unexpired term. The three members of the Zoning Board of Appeals shall annually elect a chairman, vice chairman and a clerk from their own members.  The chairman of the Zoning Board of Appeals may designate an alternate to sit on the board in case of absence, inability to act, or conflict of interest on the part of any member thereof, or in the event of a vacancy on the board, until said vacancy is filled by the Board of Selectmen.

Meetings of the board shall be held at the call of the chairman.

The Zoning Board of Appeals shall have the following powers:

  • To hear and decide appeals in accordance with the Zoning By-Laws.
  • To hear and decide applications for special permits under the provisions of the Zoning By- Laws.
  • To hear and decide petitions for variances as set forth in the Zoning By-Laws.

The unanimous vote of the three sitting members of the Zoning Board of Appeals is necessary to grant a special permit or variance, or to reverse any order or decision of the zoning enforcement officer, the inspector of buildings or other administrative official.

Any inquiries or questions should be directed to Michele Dowling, Assistant to Zoning Board of Appeals at 781-709-1432

Board Members

NameTitleTerm Expires
William Cullity



Frederick Casavant IV

Vice Chair


James Gallagher



Linda MacDonald



Christine Griffin