

FAQ Dog Licensing Questions:

WHY do I have to register my dog?

It is a Massachusetts General Law and Pembroke Town Bylaw that requires you to register your dog with the Town Clerk's Office. It is important that the Clerk's office has a current list of dogs in town, the largest reason is so that we have a database to keep track of the rabies vaccination reports for the dogs of Pembroke.

When do I need to register my dog by?

All dogs must be licensed with the Town Clerk during the period of January 1st-February 28th, or else they are subject to a \$15.00 late fee. In addition, a dog not registered by March 1st picked up by the Animal Control Officer (ACO) is subject to fines in relation to the violation of MGL Chapter 140, § 137.

What do I need to register my dog?

We need to see a current copy of your dog's rabies vaccination report in order to register your dog. All dogs must be current with all shots at time of registration. Dogs that are intact are \$12.00/dogs that are altered are \$9.00. Dogs of persons over 70 and service dogs are not subject to the licensing fee but do need to solicit the Clerk's office annually with copies of their rabies certificates for their dog tag(s). The Clerk's Office accepts all forms of payments, cards subject to convenience fees. Seniors over 70 and service dogs receive dog tags free of charge.

How can I register my dog?

Coming into the Town Clerk's office in person during regular business hours, calling the Clerk's Office with a debit/credit card*, or going online to <u>https://epay.cityhallsystems.com/</u>. Be sure to select Pembroke as your municipality. *Subject to convenience fee, Clerk's Office must have current rabies information on your existing dog's profile.

Why did I get a postcard regarding my dog license in the middle of the year?

It is a Massachusetts State Law that veterinary offices submit all rabies reports to the respective Clerk's Office.

You received that postcard because we recently received rabies vaccination reports from your vet and your dog was not registered during the licensing period. The Clerk's Office does not send a specific bill for the dog license; the registration period is always 1/1-2/28.