COMMUNITY PRESERVATION ACT - Section 3 to 7 of Chapter 44B of the General Laws of Massachusetts, also known as the Community Preservation Act (the "Act"), establishes a dedicated funding source to acquire, create and preserve open space and land for recreational use; acquire, preserve, rehabilitate and restore historic resources; create, preserve and support community housing; and to rehabilitate and restore open space, land for recreational use and community housing that is acquired or created in accordance with the Act. In Pembroke, the Act will be funded by an additional surcharge of 1% on the annual tax levy on real property and by matching funds provided by the state. The following exemptions from such a surcharge, permitted under Section 3(e) of said Act, will apply: (1) property owned and occupied as a domicile by a person who would qualify for low income housing or low to moderate income senior housing in the Town; and (2) \$100,000 of the value of each taxable parcel of residential real property. A taxpayer receiving a regular tax abatement or exemption will also receive a pro rata reduction in surcharge. A Community Preservation Committee must be created pursuant to by-law and will make recommendations on the use of the funds. Town Meeting must approve any such recommendation before funds can be expended. All expenditures pursuant to the Act will be subject to an annual audit. Article voted at April 27, 2006 Annual Town Meeting and adopted by ballot question in Nov. 2006

MEMBERSHIP OF THE COMMUNITY PRESERVATION COMMITTEE Section 1: Establishment. There is hereby established a Community Preservation Act committee, consisting of nine (9) voting members pursuant to the provisions of G.L., c44B, 5. The composition of the committee, the appointing authority and the term of office for the committee members shall be as follows: (1) One member of the Conservation Commission as designated by the commission; (2) One member of the Historical Commission as designated by the commission; (3) One member of the Planning Board as designated by the Board; (4) One member of the Housing Authority as designated by the Authority; (5) One member of the DPW as designated by the Commission; (6) One member of the Open

Space Committee as designated by the Committee; (7) One member of the Recreation Commission as designated by the Commission; (8) Two members to be appointed by the Board of Selectmen.