## MINUTES OF THE SELECT BOARD MEETING OCTOBER 20, 2021

**PRESENT**: Jessica Rushing (Chairwoman), John G. Brown, Jr. (Vice-Chairman), Rebecca Coletta (Clerk), Daniel W. Trabucco (Selectman), Tracy Marino (Selectwoman), William Chenard (Town Manager), Robert DeMarzo, Vincent Cogliano, Linda Peterson, John Connaughton, Donna Cannone, Elin Flashman, Dana Bean, Don Bryant, Carol Dodge, Mark Ames, Karen Ames, Jenelle Kariotis-Rice, Dale Harrison, Linda MacDonald, Brook Musial, Shanna Townley, Arthur Egerton, Rob Adams, Sabrina Chilcott (Assistant Town Manager), and others.

At 7:00 pm Ms. Rushing opened the meeting and advised that this meeting is being made available to the public through an audio recording which will be used to ensure an accurate record of proceedings produced in the minutes of the meeting. All comments made in open session will be recorded.

# VOTE TO AUTHORIZE TOWN ACCOUNTANT TO PREPARE AND ENTER INFORMATION INTO PLYMOUTH COUNTY ARPA PORTAL and TO AUTHORIZE TOWN MANAGER TO APPROVE, FINALIZE, SUBMIT ARPA GRANT APPLICATIONS

Mr. Chenard advised that Plymouth County has identified more thoroughly the process for grant application for American Rescue Plan Act in which they recommend that the Select Board vote to authorize the towns steps in the process. Mr. Trabucco moved that Town Accountant, Michael Buckley, is authorized to prepare and enter information into the Plymouth County American Rescue Plan portal in support of one or more applications to Plymouth County for grants ("ARPA Grants") to be funded from a grant received by Plymouth County under the American Rescue Plan Act. Ms. Marino seconded the motion. The vote was unanimously in favor. Mr. Trabucco moved that Town Manager, William Chenard, is authorized to approve, finalize, and submit on behalf of the Town any such ARPA Grant application and to make all representations and certifications required to be made on behalf of the Town to complete each such application, with such approval, representations, and certifications to be evidenced by the signature of the Town Manager on such application; and if any such ARPA grant is awarded, the Town Manager shall be the recipient of such grant on behalf of the Town. Ms. Marino seconded the motion. The vote was unanimously in favor.

#### APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO DIVERSITY, EQUITY AND INCLUSION COMMITTEE

Ms. Rushing advised that applicants Kimberly Nashawaty and Cathy LaBrecque have withdrawn their applications. On August 4, 2021, the Select Board voted to approve the formation and mission of the Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee to include "up to 11 members with each member appointed by the Select Board. These members will include one liaison each from Police, Fire, Schools, Library, and a High School student. The remaining six positions will be made up of Pembroke residents." Ms. Marino stated that she is a supporter of the creation of the Committee and drafted the mission statement; however, she would like to discuss what happened at town meeting in more depth before continuing. Discussion ensued. Ms. Rushing and Ms. Coletta stated that they would like to seat the Committee and let their work begin. Ms. Marino questioned their efficacy under current circumstances. Mr. Brown suggested the Board consider the Committee as a private entity. Mr. Trabucco asked if the public open meeting format required of a town committee could hamper the Committee's ability to work with adversely affected residents without stifling their ability to express themselves. Ms. Coletta stated that the Committee is better structured with the corresponding transparency and accountability to the Select Board. Ms. Rushing, Ms. Coletta, Mr. Brown and Ms. Marino stated that they want to seat the Committee. Mr. Trabucco voiced support for the democratic process of both Town Meeting and the responsibilities of the Select Board and residents in attendance. Ms. Marino recommended a slate of five candidates from the nine applications received to include Dale Harrison, John Connaughton, Brooke Musial, Shanna Townley, Patricia Pflaumer, and Elin Flashman. Mr. Brown stated that he does not support the appointment of Mr. Flashman as the contributor to a controversial article in publication and he recommended Mr. Ciciotti for appointment. Ms. Rushing and Ms. Coletta stated they do not support Mr. Ciciotti's appointment and support Ms. Marino's slate. Ms. Marino moved to appoint Dale Harrison, John Connaughton, Brooke Musial, Shanna Townley, Patricia Pflaumer, and Cary Levy to the Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee. Ms. Coletta seconded the motion. The vote was unanimously in favor.

#### MINUTES OF THE SELECT BOARD MEETING

#### TOWN MANAGER'S REPORT

<u>Construction updates</u>: Town Landing's poured in place rubber has been set and the playground is closed for forty-eight hours so it can cure.

At 7:50 pm, Ms. Rushing read the upcoming issues from the agenda. Ms. Coletta moved to adjourn; Ms. Marino seconded the motion. The vote was unanimously in favor.

### **MATERIALS & EXHIBITS**

Draft Motions, Ply. County Commission RE: ARPA Process (TM Office)